Blue Belt

Signifies the Heaven towards which the plant matures into a towering tree as training in TaeKwon-Do progresses.

White Belt

Signifies innocence, as that of a beginning student who has no previous knowledge of Tae Kwon Do.

Yellow Belt

Signifies Earth, from which a plant sprouts and takes root as Tae Kwon Do foundation is being laid.

Green Belt

Signifies the plant's growth as the Tae Kwon Do skill begins to develop.

Belt Ranks

Red Belt

Signifies danger, cautioning the student to exercise control and warning the opponent to stay away.

Black Belt

Opposite of white, therefore, signifying the maturity and proficiency in Tae Kwon Do. Black also indicates the wearer's imperviousness to darkness and fear.
About Kou's Taekwon-Do
Theory of Power & Training Secrets

System of Rank

In Taekwon-Do, character development, fortitude, tenacity, and technique are graded as well as individual capacity. The promotional scale is divided into nineteen ranks - 10 grades (Gups) and nine degrees (Dans.) The former begins with 10th grade (Gup) the lowest and ends at first grade. Degrees begin with the first degree (Dan) and end with the ultimate, ninth degree.First through third degree is considered the novice stages of black belt. Students are still merely beginners in comparison to the higher degrees. At fourth degree, the student crosses the threshold of puberty and enters the expert class. Seventh through ninth is composed of Taekwon-Do masters - the elite who fully understand all the particulars of Taekwon-Do, mental and physical.